Closing The Book Instead Of Turning The Page

wpid-c5d20d83d9d2eff62ab4818732d09f32.jpg

 

There comes a time when you have to choose between turning the page and closing the book.  I’ve been flipping pages awhile and it’s been a sad one-sided story.  It is now time to close that book.

Just over a week ago, I sent “him” my final farewell email.  It’s was about the 10th farewell email I’ve written over that last couple of months but the only one sent.  In hindsight, I’m very glad I didn’t send the other farewell emails.  They were written at times when raw emotions were in control of the keyboard.  This last  one was written from a place of acceptance. 

I have no idea if “he” will ever read it and I honestly don’t care.  I think I wrote that letter more for me as a way of moving on, letting go.   I spoke my peace from a calm, level-headed state of mind and sent it off.  Just like the balloon in the quote above. There was no hatred, hurt or manipulation in the words just pure acceptance.   I realized that I can’t change what has happened but I can change how I continue to react to it.  I finally reached a point where I no longer want to react to it.  It was necessary for me to create my own closure.  I know I will never get it from “him”.

I feel a weight has been lifted, the fog is clearing away. I feel a sense of freedom.  A smile is making a reappearance to my face.  I will embrace the laugh lines it creates. While I’m not fond of any facial line (lol)  laugh lines tell a much better story than frown lines.

10 thoughts on “Closing The Book Instead Of Turning The Page

  1. Bless. May all your days brighten from this point forward. *hugs*

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hope that inner peace stays with you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sassygirl40 says:

    I’m happy for you that you can find your own closure and feel this sense of peace. It will only get better and easier from here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m sooo counting on it getting easier from here on out. I know there will still be “those” moments but time is definitely a healer. And as more time pasts, more healing will occur to the point “those” moments will slowly slip away or at least be turned into pleasant memories. Thank you 🙂

      Like

  4. Good on you! The hardest part is hopefully behind you. Lift your eyes up and feel the warm glow of the sun, feel the gentle breeze, let it blow all the yesterdays away, and live for today, for tomorrow, for your future. So pleased for you and how far you have come!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

