This song….

There is a line in this song that hits my heart hard. 

When is the first time I’ll never see you again…”.  

I wish I knew when we said goodbye in the parking lot, it was the first time I would never see him again. I had no idea there was a train barreling down the track and getting ready to slam into me.

3 Door Down – Goodbyes

There’s so much that I would say if I could see you one last time.
But now I can’t ’cause you’re not here but you’re always on my mind.
When I look up and you’re not there, when I lie awake at night
All these things I ask myself and I don’t know why.


(When it’s the first time)
When is the first time that you’ll never see someone again?
(When it’s the last time)
When it’s the last time you weren’t ready for it to end?
When will I leave you standing alone there in the dark?
(It’s never easy)
They’re never easy but sometimes, goodbyes are so hard, they’re so hard.

When it’s the first time that you’ll never see someone again?
When it’s the last time you weren’t ready for it to end?
When will I leave you standing alone there in the dark?
They’re never easy but sometimes goodbyes are so hard, they’re so hard.

I look ahead but can’t move on, I look back but I can’t stay.
And I keep tryin to be strong, but this pain, it won’t go away.
And I hope this will heal in time ’cause I can’t go on like this,
And right now I would give my life for one last kiss.


(When it’s the first time)
When is the first time that you’ll never see someone again?
(When it’s the last time)
When it’s the last time you weren’t ready for it to end?
When will I leave you standing alone there in the dark?
(It’s never easy)
They’re never easy but sometimes, goodbyes are so hard, they’re so hard.

You’ll be there on my mind, standing in the sunshine.

(When it’s the first time)
When it’s the first time that you’ll never see someone again?
(When it’s the last time)
When it’s the last time you weren’t ready for it to end?
When will I leave you standing alone there in the dark?
(It’s never easy)
They’re never easy but sometimes, goodbyes are so hard, they’re so hard.

3 thoughts on “This song….

  1. Hope says:

    That’s a good one. Several of their songs are in my emo/fuck you play list.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anonyman says:

    You’re never ready to say your last goodbye. It’s partly the fear of the final goodbye that keeps you going back, seeking or accepting contact.
    I don’t know what it is exactly about affairs that makes it so hard to move on and close that door for good. Maybe it’s because the affair happened irregularly and in secret to begin with, so there’s always the possibility that it could start up again out of nowhere. Maybe it’s because the relationships don’t die a natural death or because we can’t go through the normal grieving process. Whatever it is, I hear you. It sucks. It hurts. It’s hard as hell.

    Liked by 1 person

    • So true. I’ve been pondering that same question (even have a draft post about it), trying to figure out why it is so hard to say goodbye, walk away, let go. What am I hanging on to? What is the attachment? Perhaps punishment for engaging in it in the first place. I don’t know and don’t have the answers either. But I realize it is a process and a crappy one. Thank you for your comment and …validation. I appreciate it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

