Gallbladder..you suck

I’ve been dealing with intermittent upper abdominal discomfort for a couple of months and finally have an answer….which isn’t always a great thing.  My gallbladder is not functioning…0%.  I don’t have any stones or inflammation, it just doesn’t function.

Now I’m someone who needs to know and understand everything.  It’s annoying to many and I am a doctor’s worst nightmare.  So why is’t it functioning?  Can it start functioning?  Is this really the source of my problems?  Is surgery really necessary?  Will surgery fix all the symptoms?  Is this a primary problem or secondary to another issue that hasn’t been discovered? etc etc

My primary dr, who is now annoyed with me for questioning her treatment plan, insists surgery is the only answer.  When I asked about other seemingly unrelated issues, she simply responds…remove the gallbladder and if the other symptoms don’t go away after 3-4 weeks post-op, we’ll see if something else is going one.

Me…blank stare  ah, seriously?!?!

Fortunately, the surgeon recommended against surgery at this time.  My naturopathic dr thinks I can wait on surgery as well.  Both agree that absent of stones, inflammation and pain that is interrupting my life, surgery is not the best solution at this time and may cause other issues.  Welll…I’m not trying to trade one problem for another.

But….I’m still conflicted by all of this and all of the volumes of research I have done.  I’m developing new symptoms that may be internalized anxiety about all of this.  BTW, the gallbladder is sensitive to stress.  Well….that’s going to be a problem.

I really don’t have time to deal with this crap….gallbladder you suck.

Leave a Reply

